An Honest Open Letter

Embrace what makes you unique, even if it makes others uncomfortable. I didn’t have to become perfect because I’ve learned throughout my journey that perfection is the enemy of greatness.
― Janelle Monáe

My Transparent Moment:
I’m 33 years old and for the majority of my life, my biggest flaw was caring about what others thought about me more than my inner convictions to simply “do me”. When I was a child, I had the complete confidence and freedom to be my true self, but somewhere outside my home’s four walls, I bought into the lie that I didn’t measure up to “the standard”. That’s when my world and path of my personal life journey took a detour.

We live in a society that preaches “come as you are”, “just be yourself”, “do you”; but I truly believe our society is too petty to really mean it. So many times we control, micromanage, make up rules to tell each other what to do instead of allowing one another to organically live and learn our own unique paths in life. I by all means am not advocating disorder and chaos, but grace towards one another’s gains and shortcomings as we all are learning how to “do life”. How can my good heart and actions be considered wrong if it reaps good fruit?! How can me teaching my children how to connect with their Creator and love others be a problem if it benefits all?! How is my non-traditional method to do life offensive if it’s effective?! It baffles and perplexes me every single time!—And now I realize it’s not worth the trouble to ponder over any longer. There is a simple solution to stop the madness.

So today, I’m openly stating that I am done being in a prison of other people’s approval. I’m walking out my own personal journey. I’m choosing to be who I am truly designed and purposed to be, to make an indelible mark in the lives of those I am purposed to reach. I may never be understood or appreciated in my lifetime for what God leads me to do; but that was never my incentive to begin with [as the likes of Galileo GalileiDr. Martin Luther King Jr., and others who didn’t see the fruits of their labor that changed the course of our world for the better]. I’m choosing to stay true to my God-given convictions, and genuinely hope others choose to step out boldly to do the same regret-free. After all, we all hold a special piece of the entire puzzle that makes this world whole. If we won’t step up to give our own unique piece, who will on our behalf?!

Wishing you much peace, love and true freedom,
Dionna L. Hayden

#EnjoyTheJourney

Leave a Reply

